Spider 160r

A 1st timers maintenance blog to owning a Chinese go-kart.

Loose Chain?


Chain Adjustment

Chain Adjustment Bolts

In answering a question about tightening the chain, I realized that the owner’s manual is misleading in its depiction of the bolt to loosen.  So, try this modified graphic and description. It’s simple once you realize how it’s done.

Essentially, all you are doing is increasing the length between the small and large sprocket.
  1. Stand at the back of the buggy, and loosen the big nut in the middle, between the two shock springs (#1 in the graphic). You probably need to make at least one full turn counter-clockwise.
  2. Take your hand and feel the smaller nut (#2 in the graphic) a couple of inches under the one you just loosened. This is the ‘lock’ nut that you need to tighten. Tighten it 1/2 a turn and see if the chain is tighter.
  3. Keep doing this until the is only about a 1/2″ of play in the chain.
That’s all there is to it! With a new chain, expect to initially tighten it every couple hours of riding.

7 responses to “Loose Chain?

  1. Dave March 23, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    I just bought this same model from killer and am waiting delivery. What’s your overall impression of the product and killer after 3 months?

    • Mark March 24, 2011 at 8:09 am

      Mixed. Killer is a solid company with knowlegable techs, but the buggy has a few limitations to be aware of. The metal is soft. Check out how the front wheel and throttle cable. broke
      After 30 days, warranty is out and Killer is less helpful. Change the case and gear oil after a few hours and re-tighten all nuts and bolts you can find.

      That being said, the buggy is a lot of fun and looks great. Feel confident in that you got a good value as long as you can are prepared for potential issues (that’s why I am doing this blog). You may find that with a lower cost kart, you will be playing shade tree mechanic more often.

      If I had ridden it harder the first month (just to get the kinks out and to take more advantage of the warranty) and had been better prepared for potential issues, I would give the kart an 8 out of 10. With my learning curve and excessive downtime, I give it a 4.

      Let me know how it goes!

      • Dave March 27, 2011 at 5:15 pm

        Well my cart was suppose to be here last Friday, (already had mix up from Killer about when and where it would ship) but the end shipper forgot to load it on the truck delivering to the house. So I drove an hour to pick it up with a trailer so the kids could have it for the weekend. Got to the shipping company and they brought it out… this thing was in a weak square tubing shipping frame that was bent to hell. There was no bottom to this frame so the cart shipped sitting on the rear brake rotor (damaged), rear frame was bent, and both front and rear roll cage mounting post and bracket were bent. (I assume they stacked something heavy on top). I refused shipment and spent the rest of the afternoon on the phone with Killer and the shipping company to arrange for another shipment that night. Killer was pretty good as they got another cart out that night and I requested pictures of the pallet and packaging condition of the new cart which they sent me via email. Cart suppose to be here Monday or Tuesday. Honestly, almost canceled my order due to all the issues since I placed my order, but I’ll give it one more chance with this delivery. This one looked like it might make the trip from Dallas. I am anticipating issues after reading all the reviews about these Chinese carts but we deal with all of this stuff so our kids can have a little fun livin in the country. I just hope Killer continues to be helpful after the cart shows up. JJ and Chance have been really good so far at Killer. The guy who sold it to me (remain nameless at this time) hasn’t been to helpful so far since he took the order over the phone. We’ll see…

      • Mark March 28, 2011 at 7:49 am

        My “receiving” experience wasn’t too far off. The crate was a little bent and I had a broken taillight. I ended up accepting it, with a couple comments on the shipper’s invoice. Immediately I called Killer and Chance shipped out the tail light. I didnt have any more problems related to the crate being bent though.
        Assembling heads up Dave – I had a few welding “drips” that made parts of the frame not fit. I had to sand the inside of a couple frame pipes to clean it out. If I didnt have access to a small grinder, I would have pulled my hair out. A Mr. Wiz or Dremel tool would work too.

  2. Dave March 31, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Cart arrived on Tuesday and was packaged much better. Juan (JJ) at Killer did a really good job packaging this one and it was in perfect shape. Ya, getting this thing off the truck and onto my trailer, unpackaged, sort of assembled and off the trailer was a beast of a chore. It’s about 90% together due to other things to do this week, plus its been raining. Gonna finish it up Saturday. Everything appears to fit pretty well, a few C-clamps and muscle and it went together. The only thing so far is the foam pad covers. The paint didn’t really dry as they were stuck together. We put them on hoping they’d dry in a few days. We’ll see. Haven’t started the fuel line hookup, battery, or try to start yet. I was four bolts short for the dash and haven’t put it on yet. I’m gonna lock tite everything since everything I’ve read indicates the bolts come loose pretty frequently. Any thoughts on the nuts on the wheels? I noticed there are no lock washers on the lugs. I was thinking of adding them so the wheel doesn’t come flyin off…

    • Mark April 1, 2011 at 6:54 am

      Good to hear it’s better this time around.
      The paint wont dry. never. All you can do is get some Goof Off and wipe off the paint. That’s why you dont see any of the logos on my kart.
      I haven’t had any problem with the wheels, and those were the few nuts where I didn’t use Loctite. That being said, I have checked their thightness … just in case.

      • Dave April 3, 2011 at 7:38 pm

        Got everything put together and ran it this weekend. Took it easy all weekend to try to break it in right. Getting ready to tighten the chain and change the oils. It is starting to shift a little harder after a couple of hours riding, so I’m gonna start with the oil and check the lubrication of the shift cable.

        I turned the padding covers inside out and put them on as the paint was not drying. The net is cosmetic, and the horns…well I don’t understand cosmetic horns at all, but until I get a chance to grind off the brackets they are in place. Everything seems to be going ok so far…keeping our fingers crossed and checking everything daily. Kids are having a blast. Your information and tips were a huge help… thank you!